Nothing else but time for fibromyalgia

nothing but time for fibromyalgia wellness requires strict lifestyleI’d been debilitated by a muscle spasm for five days before going to my doctor yesterday.  I would have gone to see him sooner but I didn’t have anyone to drive me and I simply couldn’t drive that far.  I’d taken my medication for breakthrough pain and was worried about not having it later in the month. I told him I’d been in so much pain that I couldn’t think without medication to relieve it.

“I don’t know if the spasm is breakthrough pain or a part of fibromyalgia or if it’s unrelated,” I told my doctor.

“Was it a real spasm?” he asked.  Sometimes he asks geeky questions.

“Yes,” I answered confidently.

“It isn’t ideal that you took your breakthrough medicine for a muscle spasm, but at that point, you really didn’t have a choice.”  He wrote something on his notepad.

Now I wished I’d called his office when the spasm started.   He wrote me a prescription for magnesium mixed with a chemical in aspirin.  He said people find relief for migraines with the medication and that it may help muscles spasms.  He said more about magnesium, but I can’t remember!  He also told me to apply wet heat, which I could have done and didn’t.  Again, I should have called his office five days earlier.  He didn’t mention replacing my breakthrough medication.  I don’t like having to ask for extra pain medicine so I didn’t mention it either.

I didn’t have much in me so to speak.  It took strength for me to talk loud enough to be heard, much less communicate any concerns or other issues I was having.  I didn’t tell him my bladder was still hurting but I was tired.  I’d been hurting for days and it wore me out mentally and physically.  Sometimes I feel like giving up.  I feel like there is no hope.  That no matter what, pain will be part of my daily life.

“You know what I told you about the central sensitivity…” he said.  I nodded yes. I can’t remember his exact words.  He spoke to the pain from the view that fibromyalgia is a central nervous system disorder, Central Sensitivity Syndrome (CSS), which I think suggest that the level of pain I’ve experienced from the muscle spasm is part of fibromyalgia, but not necessarily a symptom.

I had a college mentor who told me many times, “If you can’t explain something then you don’t understand it.”  I guess I don’t fully understand CSS.  I understand the general concept, which is enough to know that people with fibromyalgia experience more pain from stimuli, such as a muscle spasm, than do people who do not have fibromyalgia.

I remember my good doctor saying something to the effect of the spasm having caused a blast of pain from my brain that I felt all over my body.  He said that would explain why I was feeling so crappy.  I’d definitely had a blast of pain!

“Do you have any patients who have severe fibromyalgia, who you are absolutely sure they have it, without a doubt, who gets well?” I asked him.

His answer, which was basically yes, was somewhat surprising to me.   I may have also felt a glimmer of hope, but it would have taken a lot to get me out of the despondent state of mind I’ve been in for the past week or more.   Too bad because he’s a good doctor with a sense of humor.   If I’m quiet then so is he.  If I’m in a lighter mood then he’ll tell me a joke, usually a geeky one, but sometimes that’s what makes it funny.

“Yes,” and he turned around in his chair to face me.  “There are some people who do get better.  They are people who follow a strict routine of exercise.  They practice stretches throughout the day every day.   They follow a strict diet.  They have very strict schedules and that is all they do.  These are people who have nothing else going on and devote all their time to practicing these things.  The people who are more likely to get well from fibromyalgia are people who have nothing else,” and he waved his hands in the air for an added effect, “nothing else going on — at all — that gets in their way.  They are people with nothing else but time.”

Could I be that person I wondered the rest of the day.  I’ve got the time.  I’ve also got a lot going on. 

This morning I visited a blog with the most beautiful photos of places where people were fly fishing.  I’d like to do that, even if I didn’t catch a fish.  I wish I could go to paradise, where I would have nothing else but time.

Image of clock by Leslie, at IconDoIt, the blog.  Copyrights apply.



5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by michelle jadaa on August 8, 2010 at 5:12 PM

    So basicly 24 hours a day should be focused on fibro so that you feel better but then you dont have time to actually do anything while feeling better.oh thats so much clearer:)I think most of us want to be better so we can work and contribute to society and maybe enjoy our family and hobbies.
    Its kind of like when they say they dont want you to take something for pain because it could be addictive but admit that youll have that pain for life anyway………..

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi Michelle!

      Yep. 24 hours a day, that is who the doctor said he has seen get a lot better.

      You know I hadn’t thought of the part about not being able to do the things we want to do, like live our lives. I’d thought of what a luxurious life one must have to have in order to devote every bit of time, 100% to doing all those things, but then, you are right — no time for anything else.

      And don’t even get me started about them saying we don’t need pain medication while we are in severe pain — I can’t stand that. Addiction is not the same thing as becoming dependent on a medication to treat pain.

      I hope you are doing okay. I’m glad to see a comment from you 🙂 It’s been a while. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

      Reply

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Karen Mattis, Rick Eriksen. Rick Eriksen said: @ http://bit.ly/7pUq Nothing else but time for fibromyalgia « Dogkisses's Blog: Posted August 6, 2010 by dogkisses… http://bit.ly/aPksmZ […]

    Like

    Reply

  3. my FM has come back once again too .. new doctors this time and i have been given something called gabapentin

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi Brian!

      Nice to hear from you but I’m sorry to hear that you are having pain again. I’m pretty sure gabapentin is the same drug as Neurontin. I almost mentioned that medication in this post, but deleted it.

      The doctor also said that the people who get well, or much better, from severe fibromyalgia are also the ones who are able to take either Lyrica or Neurontin. I couldn’t take Lyrica for sure and it’s been so long since I tried the Neurontin, I can’t remember what that was like. I think many people find relief from the drug you have been prescribed. I hope it helps you.

      I believe that having a schedule of daily stretching and physical therapy exercises would indeed help the symptoms of fibromyalgia. I need more self-discipline in this way.

      Thanks for your comment. I’d like to know if the medication helps you.

      Like

      Reply

Feel Free to Comment

