Time out…

Mystical Mountains

Sacred Oats fall Crows came to call

A magical view of those rolling green hills

those hills sure do call my name

My beloved 4-legged guardian and I walk barefoot

green grassy meadows where the ground is soft, white-tail deer roam and crows come calling

Where the Sacred Oats fall…  Crows come to call

Suddenly we danced in the night around the fire

We danced at night.

Below are some of my journal entries during my camping trip.  They speak mostly to pain and challenges.  I’m a little surprised.  I did actually enjoy myself, at times, but apparently there was more pain and hard times than I realized.  I do love those hills.  I loved some parts of the trip.  Still, these entries mostly reflect how hard the trip was for me.

–Today we are in the mountains.  Many things occurred over the past few days as I was getting ready to go camping that I didn’t like.  But I’m here.  A moment alone now as my son, a man now, and our two young friends are with me.  Of course our four-legged are here too.  Well, my moment is over.  Son is back.

–Preparing for this trip was extremely hard.  Bending over a lot while packing caused severe lower back pain for me.  I had to walk through the fatigue.  I had to dig deep inside for the will or whatever it was that I had to have, determination I guess, to keep on packing despite severe pain and fatigue.

–I fell.  Slid down a moss covered set of stone steps.  No bruises.

–Sacred oats gone bad.  I am not eating from that bowl.

–I’ve been terribly sick and pretty much having to go at things as usual without much help.  It’s been hard.  I had to do most of the work preparing this trip.  My son isn’t doing well.

–I’m exhausted.  Completely.  My pain levels are off the scale.

–It’s nice writing out here.  My dogs are lying next to me.  The young people went on bicycle rides.  It’s very quiet.

–I love being here.

–Butterflies are everywhere.

–I think the sacred oats that went bad have left us now.  I hope.

–They’re back.

–Well, maybe those bad oats didn’t leave us.

–My pain has hit hard sitting here writing.  I’ll lie down soon.

–God I’m tired!

–My son is having a psychotic episode.

–My intestines hurt like hell.

–I’m watching the last log burn.  Now this wood, well, it’s amazing!

With all the pain and frustration that came with that trip, I managed to get some time out.  I needed to get away from flat land.  I needed to go where the hills surround me.  I needed the cool breeze that always travels through those rolling green mountains.


4 responses to this post.

  1. lovely pictures, camping is great, but it also takes you out your comfort zone especially when you need a nice comfortable couch or bed to lie in, but hats off to you its an achievement to get out and away from the normality and drudgery of every day life, but boy I bet you slept for ages when you came back 😉

    Like

    Reply

    • Hey Brian– Yes, the mountains are lovely for sure. Mostly, since I got home, (I know this is depressing), but I’ve been in absolutely horrible pain. It seems to be settling but my body is very sore from all the work. I did sleep a lot! For an entire week, but it only felt like a day or two. Next time, I’ll make sure the fire logs are split into smaller pieces. Thanks for stopping by to see the photos 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  2. Posted by licoriceroot on August 18, 2010 at 12:19 AM

    Needed this. Thank you for posting.

    Like

    Reply

Feel Free to Comment

