Butterfly, A Beautiful Life

Watch the butterfly happen!  Two minutes of transformation.

NationalGeographic, “Great Migrations: Butterfly: A Life”

The best part is near the end of the clip.  I hope it plays for you.

17 responses to this post.

  1. Reblogged this on Dogkisses's Blog and commented:

    A beautiful video. It’s almost time to start thinking about what you might plant in your garden. I encourage you to plant a larval food plant so that you may get to enjoy the awesome transformation of a caterpillar.

    Like

    Reply

  2. That’s precious! I shall credit the find to you when it get’s placed on tomorrow’s Learning from Dogs. Great find, M.

    Like

    Reply

    • Very cool! I’m a little late getting your messages, but I’m glad you liked the video. I found it after watching the one you had posted on your LFD’s blog about the history of our relationship with dogs. So thanks for sending me to the National Geographic site!

      Like

      Reply

  3. LOL…. back.. and I managed to go to the National Geographic and find it… The Monarch Butterfly So I hope I got the right one Michelle..
    A truely transformative process, and if only we could all realise we are all but Caterpillars in the cabbage patch.. And one day we shall transform and transcend this mortal Human Shell, and Yes Michelle, we shall wake up and realise we are beautiful all the time! lol… Dreamwalker

    Like

    Reply

    • I’m glad you got to see it.

      I once helped someone edit videos on butterflies and hummingbirds and this reminded me of his work. He was very talented. He traveled the world chasing butterflies in his plane. He wrote his own music for the butterflies to dance to and his video, “Dancing with Hummingbirds” won an award at the Sundance Festival. That’s when I learned about the butterflies.

      As far as waking up feeling beautiful, I still think I might need a nap first and then get up again 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  4. oh What a shame the video wont play in my country due to restrictions.. But I will pop over and watch on Youtube and be back lol Brb:-)

    Like

    Reply

  5. That was beautiful Mrs Dogkisses. I also watched the one afterwards with a slideshow of pictures of different buttflies. (or Flutter-bys as My kids used to call them when they were little) It is amazing how most are so beautiful, but others just blend into their background, and some are actually creepy looking.

    Don’t you wish we could be like that little catapiller? Wrap outselves up, rest for awhile, then emerge breathtaking and well?

    Maybe we should all take a lesson from that butterfly. You might wake up in the morning feeling ugly, but take a nap and you just might wake up lokking better than you have for a long time.

    Like

    Reply

    • Oh, I’m laughing. “You might wake up in the morning feeling ugly, but take a nap and you just might wake up lokking better than you have for a long time.”

      I’ll just plan on taking a nap tomorrow morning, after I wake up.

      I’m glad you enjoyed it. I loved it! Thanks for commenting Mo!

      hugs and dogkisses xoxo

      Like

      Reply

    • PS Wow, Thanks for telling me about the second one Mo. I just watched it. Beautiful! (Beautiful Butterflies)

      Like

      Reply

Feel Free to Comment

