Super Moon!

A supermoon is a perigee-syzygy, a new or full...

A supermoon is a perigee-syzygy, a new or full moon (syzygy) which occurs when the Moon is at 90% or greater of its mean closest approach to Earth (perigee). The March 19, 2011 supermoon is just 221,566 miles (356,577 kilometers) away from Earth. The last time the full moon approached so close to Earth was in 1993, according to NASA. it is about 20 percent brighter and 15 percent bigger than a regular full moon. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I recently discovered a wonderful blog, Learning from Dogs, where Paul Handover has posted a couple of great articles about the “Super” moon tonight.

Both articles are educational and poetic.  I highly recommend you visit the site and read about this moon.  Plus, it’s a doggone great blog to visit and definitely worth your time.

Below are the links to the posts, by Paul Handover, from Learning from Dogs, about this, “very full moon!”

“The full moon — very full!”

“That beautiful moon.”

Enjoy!


 

14 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Michelle.. Yes the Full Moon certainly was a beautiful sight, It had a halo around it here in the UK.. I wish my camera was powerful enough to capture detail, but my photo’s turned out a Small dot compared to the professionals that take them..
    Have a Good Week.. and Take care.. Dreamwalker xx

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi Dreamwalker,
      We also saw a halo around the moon. It was nice. Seemed like everyone was outside and the young folks were all excited, but I don’t know that they even noticed the moon. I’ve often felt full of emotions whenever there is a full moon, and I did with this one as well, but it was a nice time.

      Thank you and I hope you have a nice week too. Peace… Michelle xoxo

      Like

      Reply

  2. As you said in your comment on my blog, Michelle, it was quite the little treat. After 11-years with Parkinson’s disease, there’s not a whole lot I can do, but I can certainly set up a camera on a tripod on my front porch and take some nice little snapshots. It was beautiful!

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi Bill!

      Yes, the moon was very pretty! I have a little digital camera and wish I’d taken at least a shot, but I didn’t. Plus, I don’t know much about photography.

      I’m glad we both enjoyed it. It is very difficult to accept life with so many limitations. I was updating a profile today, and realized I had to change my hobbies. Even though I like to hike, I don’t think one could call my short slow walks hiking. And gardening, well, only if the ground was ready and the holes already dug could I plant anything, so I changed that too.

      I love the name of your post, “Grab the Little Goodies Life Gives You” –I think you and I had very similar experiences regarding that Super Moon.

      I’m very sorry you have Parkinson’s disease. I look forward to visiting your site again. Thanks for your comment!
      Michelle.

      Like

      Reply

  3. Posted by ruthie on March 19, 2011 at 7:30 PM

    LOVE the picture of the beautiful moon!! I will try and see it tonight!!

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi Ruthie,

      I hope you get to see it tonight. It is very pretty, but I’m sure if you are in a place where it’s clearer than it is here, it is much more spectacular. Still, it is very bright!

      Like

      Reply

  4. just been out with the dog and it looks awesome, its so bright and mesmerising..

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi Brian,
      It is so cool that we can see the Super moon at the same time while we are so very far away. Such a connection! I was just out with my dog too. So maybe we really were seeing it at the same time.

      It was cloudy here but it’s getting brighter now.

      Peace to you, and I hope you are well.
      Michelle, and the dogs 😉

      Like

      Reply

Feel Free to Comment

