Peace in Nature

A poem by Wendell Berry:

The Peace Of Wild Things

When despair for the world grows in me
and I wake in the night at the least sound
in fear of what my life
and my childrens lives may be

I go and lie down where the wood drake rests
in his beauty on the water
and the great heron feed

I come into the peace of wild things
who do not tax their lives with forethought of grief
I come into the presence of still water
and I feel above me the day-blind stars
waiting with their light

for a time I rest in the grace of the world
and am free.

The music in the video is called Hawk Circle, played by George Winston.

Thank You for visiting Dogkisses’s blog!

 

8 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Michelle… I hope that you are taking in some peace as I revisit this poem you posted and take in some of its advice ….. Love Light and Peace to you both! Sent out tonight to you both with the aid of some Angel wings! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • Dreamwalker, thanks for reminding me of this post! I love this video. Reading over the poem again sure did hit home. How timely and good of you to remember! Thank you for the Love, Light and Peace! In gratitude and love, Michelle. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  2. What a really beautiful post, I hope you don’t mind if I ‘share’ it. I can think of many of my online friends who will really appreciate the tranquility of the moments they spend reading it and listening to the music. Blessings. M

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi Wordangell,

      I’m glad you enjoyed this post. I agree it is worth the short amount of time to watch it and relax. Feel free to share this. Rooloth99 on YouTube created it. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

      dogkisses

      Like

      Reply

  3. Hi Michelle, yes Nature does not worry where the next meal comes from, or what the weather will be on the next Dawn.. We Humans worry too much about what is to come tomorrow, and what we did yesterday, when we really should just enjoy being in the Moment… For we let the ‘Moments’ pass us by by worrying about the past and the future.. And forget to LIVE in the Now!…

    A beautiful poem set to tranquil music.. Just what is needed to sooth the Soul.. xxx ~Dreamwalker~ xxx

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi Dreamwalker, I’m so glad you enjoyed this.

      I love anything written by Wendell Berry and much Thanks to Roolooth99 on YouTube for such a good job putting this clip together!

      “I come into the peace of wild things
      who do not tax their lives with forethought of grief” W. Berry.

      Beautiful isn’t it? I’m glad you related to this and you’re right, we do need to live in the Moment. Even if for a moment because every bit of time we feel relaxed is good for our minds, bodies and spirits.

      Have a blessed peaceful day my friend.

      Like

      Reply

  4. Hi Ian,

    I enjoyed your post and hope others might enjoy reading more about Wendell Berry. He is such an inspiring author and person.

    Thanks for the comment.
    Michelle.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Thank you for the like, and the related article.

    Ian
    onthewilderside

    Like

    Reply

Feel Free to Comment

