Green Healing

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Horticulture therapy is truly rewarding.  Working with plants has always been a healing experience for me, but this is my first time in a formal class.  It’s amazing how much insight I gain from being with people in this setting.

“That was the best time I’ve ever had,” my son told me after the second class.

While working with the Cacti, separating plants and each of us making a potted arrangement to take home, I realized how hard it was for me.  Everyone else seemed to be having an easy time, but I struggled.

I found a small piece of Thyme in the potting soil and I couldn’t let it go.  I wanted to save it.  I tried and tried to get it in my pot, but it kept falling over.  I also had a hard time with the Seeds of Pearl, as the plant’s roots are tender.

The group coordinator finally came over to help me.  She didn’t know, or maybe she did, how hard of a time I was having.  Trying to save the Thyme filled me with anxiety and a feeling of failure.  My experience reflected the way I feel most of the time.

Pondering on the anxiety after I returned home, I realized how hard I try to save people or fix situations that most people would walk away from.  I try so hard to get everything just right and that isn’t really the way life ought to be.  I need to simply let go.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lantanagurl on May 15, 2012 at 8:08 PM

    Hey there! We are of a like-mind. I also feel the need to save people & fix them:) I finally realized it is the reason I have come to earth…to help…to serve.

    Like

    Reply

    • lantanagurl, hi! I’m glad we’ve ‘met’ and I am looking forward to communicating with you more.

      Maybe we can assist each other in creating our dream(s) for a healing community! I think when you really want something, and when that something is good, then it will be done, eventually. At least, I used to always think and believe that. I hope it is still true. Life has been so hard for me for so long, that I wonder about most things these days. I have always felt that I’m supposed to help people. My grandma wanted me to be a preacher, and my mother wanted me to be a counselor. In my thirties, I was bitten by ticks and got really sick. I hope to get well one day. I hope my son gets well too. You never know why we go through what we do. Maybe we must learn some things to help us be who we are supposed to be. I’m nearly fifty now, so time doesn’t feel like it’s on my side like it was, oh, twenty or so years ago!

      I pray that we find our way to do what we want and are supposed to do.

      Namaste.

      Like

      Reply

  2. I have always found the outdoors, growing, doing things, healing and peaceful. Last spring I had several little projects around here. I needed a lot of physical help with them, but we accomplished them all the same. And it really did feel good. Keep up the good stuff. I LOVE what your son said, that is awesome! How wonderful it must have been to have him say that. 🙂

    I gave you a blog award this week. Congrats!

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi Deb!

      I hope you have exciting new outdoor projects this year as well, and that you will share in your blog about them. And yes, it’s very nice to know that my son enjoys the horticulture therapy. I had no idea the class would be as much fun as it is. We each brought home a potted arrangement of Cacti, which we’ve kept our eyes on. The other night it rained. He woke up in the wee hours of the morning wondering if I had remembered to bring them inside. I thought that was pretty cool.

      I can’t wait to see my award! Will pop over to your blog today. Thank you for thinking of me.
      Big hugs to you,
      Michelle.

      Like

      Reply

  3. HI Michelle, Loved these pictures shown here, and so happy that your Son had such a great time.. .. And no we cant save people and fix everything.. the only thing we can try and fix is ourselves.. Letting Go is one of our hardest lessons, but once you have you will get to feel that wonderful refreshing feeling of Freedom.. and that Lightness of ‘Being’ is what we are all aiming for. to just Be the best we can.. It wouldnt do for us all to be the same.. Or what would we learn..
    But letting go of those heavy emotions that hold and lock us down with heavy burdens depress and distress us.. Nature is a wonderful healing tool.. She just does the best she knows how to with what she has… And forever grows up wards turning towards the Sun each day.. Digging her roots into Mother Earth for strength..
    Something we have all got side tracked with.. as we have let the Material take control..
    I so hope that you can learn to let go Michelle.. For you are Perfect Just as you are… Just as those cacti and other plants are.. Thorns and all…
    Love and Blessings ~ Sue xx

    Like

    Reply

    • Oh, you are a beautiful friend. Thank you. I hope you don’t give up on me, because I feel like I’ve taken many steps back. I do love this class and hope it will help both my son and I to move forward in life.

      One of the classmates is a nice young man who drums too. We are going to visit he and his mom at their farm soon. My son will take his didgeridoo, I hope!

      Hoping too that your day is bright, and full of love.
      Love, Michelle.

      Like

      Reply

      • Ohhhhh. I so hope you join together and make sweet music.. I havent drummed all week and need also to get back into the beat.. I am putting this laptop down now and swapping for my art-pad for a while I think I want to draw for a while.. I did all my chores early this morning and Now I think I have caught up with all but a few. So enjoy your weekend and I will never give up on you.. Just NEVER give up on yourself! hugs xxx

        Like

        Reply

        • Dearest Dreamwalker,

          I look forward to seeing your artwork! I’m going to get my pen and paper today and do some old style writing to help me come up with a name for my new blog.

          Big hugs xoxoxo, Michelle.

          Like

          Reply

    • Michelle, totally echo what dear Sue wrote. But ‘letting go’ isn’t something that one makes happen, i.e. it’s not part of the conscious mind. It’s more allowing the unconscious mind, that really knows what we yearn for, to work it’s magic.

      That’s why going to those places, real and imaginary, where you experience peace is so important. Your unconscious mind will do the rest, and sooner than you expect!

      Indeed, your own Blog shows a picture of your ‘greatest teacher’. Place your head close to his or her head and allow the magic to take place. Fondest love from this old Brit out here in Arizona!

      Like

      Reply

      • Paul, Thank you.

        I am in deep gratitude for the love that comes thru this blog, and of course, from my dear sweet dogs. Their unconditional love is awesome. I don’t know what I’d do without them. Some days, when life feels way too hard, I look at them and know I am blessed. They are bright shining lights when times are dark and my ‘little drops of heaven’ every single day! Thanks for the reminder here, as well as in your ‘Learning from Dogs’ blog.

        Peace and Blessings,
        Michelle.

        Like

        Reply

Feel Free to Comment

