dogkisses:

Pretty Sunflower! (Reblogged from my Green Healing Notes photo/journal)

Originally posted on Green Healing Notes:

From the Sunflower Garden

Single Black Mammoth Sunflower Bloom

“The Sunflow’r, thinking ’twas for him foul shame
To nap by daylight, strove t’ excuse the blame;
It was not sleep that made him nod, he said,
But too great weight and largeness of his head.”
~ Abraham Cowley

Thanks for visiting Green Healing Notes!

View original

4 responses to this post.

  1. We feed birds, and a sunflower is growing from a seed that they dropped! It’s quiet tall (though not as tall as some) and flowering.
    This morning, a female goldfinch was pecking at the flower head. My ornamental sunflowers aren’t doing as well as I had hoped.
    Great photo, as always — you have a special eye for picture taking.

    Like this

    Reply

    • Hi Phy! Gosh, I get confused having the same dashboard for two blogs. I need to learn how to fix the issue (a long-standing one now, but you know how it is when your brain won’t do what you wish it would) –

      Hey, I saw a little goldfinch the other day at the gardens. I haven’t seen too many this year. I also saw a bluebird on my way home! Those are so pretty. I forgot the exact name but it’s a little bird.

      We have good dirt at the Botanical Gardens, so I think everything grows so well. Also, lots of sunlight!

      I have discovered I love photography. I don’t know how much I’d enjoy a class, but I think it’s worth a try. I really enjoy it! I think taking photos of nature is fun because there isn’t any discomfort on either side. Flowers are pleased to pose! And frogs too!

      Big Hugs and Love,
      Michelle.

      Like this

      Reply

  2. My Sunflowers are around 3 foot high now.. growing!!!. and cant wait until they bloom..

    Like this

    Reply

    • Sue, That’s so nice that they grew for you. I don’t have enough sunlight at home, so my little ones may, just may, produce one flower this year! But boy do I get to go see Sunflower Heaven at the Botanical Gardens. I went by yesterday with my sweet dog. We were hiking so we couldn’t visit the garden, but I could see those Sunflowers up on the hill from the woods below. I ADORE them!!!

      Like this

      Reply

Feel Free to Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 279 other followers

