Autumn Nectar

The sound of bees swarming in the patch of Asters caught my attention.  I saw a shadow of movement and slowly, I approached the pretty Lavender flowers.  There were several little Skippers, a Painted Lady and dozens of bees drinking nectar.  I started taking photos and right away, the elegant Monarch appeared.

The Elegant Monarch

While recovering from pneumonia over the past several weeks, I’ve been fatigued and not able to do much.  A flare of more serious fibromyalgia pain and fatigue has been difficult and humbling.

Melancholia surrounded my spirit as I walked toward the patch of Asters.  I had taken several photos before I saw the Monarch.  Within moments, I saw another one.

I love all the butterflies, but personally, seeing the Monarch is a unique experience.  Their relatively long life-span and amazing migrations evoke a deep respect and admiration.

The two Monarchs were lovely and I enjoyed watching them play.  They looked young and strong.  Their wings were perfectly untouched, not yet shaped by a butterfly’s life.  They appeared to have seniority over the other butterflies, but that’s an amateur’s observation.

What a wonderful treat their gracing the garden was for me.  My spirit felt lighter when I left the gardens and headed home to rest.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Nature has given me a special place for respite. 

Note:

You’re probably aware that Monarch habitats have been seriously threatened.  The following link from http://www.MonarchWatch.org offers us an easy simple way to help:  Monarch Waystation Program

Below is an excerpt from the website:

“What You Can Do
To offset the loss of milkweeds and nectar sources we need to create, conserve, and protect milkweed/monarch habitats. We need you to help us and help monarchs by creating “Monarch Waystations” (monarch habitats) in home gardens, at schools, businesses, parks, zoos, nature centers, along roadsides, and on other unused plots of land. Without a major effort to restore milkweeds to as many locations as possible, the monarch population is certain to decline to extremely low levels.” (www.MonarchWatch.org)

Thanks for visiting DogKisses!

Creative Commons Copyrights Apply to all Text and Images by Michelle and/or in DogKisses’s Blog (https://dogkisses.wordpress.com/).  Please see Terms of Use in this blog’s sidebar for more information.

13 responses to this post.

  1. […] Autumn Nectar (dogkisses.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    Reply

  2. Michelle Butterflies I feel bring their own healing Spirit and as you felt their upliftment I think they did their job
    I’m glad you felt well enough to take a few photos. Such beauty you have captured. I hope and I send you my thoughts that each day you gain your strength as you so rightly saw in the butterfly their delicate nature and yet how strong they are to travel so far.
    I ask that each day you gain strength to fly higher and feel brighter in a painfree zone. Knowing only to well those aches that fybro can cause.
    Sending you a big hug from my phone log in today.
    Love Sue xXxxxxxxxx

    Like

    Reply

    • Thank you Dreamwalker, I do so appreciate your well wishes and beautiful words too. The Butterflies did bring healing energy, for sure. Today I hope to go again to the gardens. Honestly, I don’t understand why things continue being so difficult for me and my little family. It’s hard to keep going sometimes. I want so little it seems, but then, I guess what I want is in reality the most important and valuable ‘things’ to want. A little home, a place for my doggies, food and for my son to get well. Oh yeah, and no pain! Ha! Maybe one day. I love your prayer. Thank you my friend. Sending you healing and well wishes too. Love, Michelle.

      Like

      Reply

  3. I hope you are feeling much better!

    Like

    Reply

    • ljr3, Thanks. I’m doing better, I think. Slow going, but I wasn’t in the best of health before, so healing is slow. I really appreciate the well wishes!

      Like

      Reply

  4. feel better soon…

    fall and winter offers a time for rest…I found that comforting this year for the first time really.

    Like

    Reply

    • Thanks Monica. Indeed that time is approaching isn’t it. Hopefully, I’ll get well enough for more outdoors time before those short days come. Thanks for your note, and I’ve enjoyed reading your wonderful blog posts! Keep up the awesome work! Michelle.

      Like

      Reply

  5. Posted by LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words on October 1, 2012 at 2:53 AM

    as always I will dream of butterflies in your garden as I am turning off the lights
    now
    I hope you feel better, ….and Thank you for taking time to share you wonderful thoughts and photos with me/us
    Take Care…
    Be Well
    )0(
    maryrose

    Like

    Reply

    • maryrose, Thank you! Glad you liked the photos and hope you had nice butterfly dreams! I have those too 🙂

      Thanks too for your well wishes. You are very kind to stop and offer them. I really appreciate that.

      Warmly,
      Michelle.

      Like

      Reply

  6. Butterflies can raise your spirits, letting you flutter through the naturecape so effortlessly. The loss of winter (and summer) habitats is depressing.
    When I was little, we used to collect the monarch cacoons and carefully place them on milkweed stems and flowers in large, clear class containers. I would check several times a day to see if the miracle of nature had transformed the cacoons into monarchlettes.
    Once they had dried their wings, and taken short “spins” around the jars, we let them go. I liked to think that each one I hatched made it through th emigration, and the generations it took for their “children” would come back to the strip of land behind our house where the milkweed grew.
    Like Paul, I hope you start feeling better mentally and physically. And, there really is a book in your pictures and accompanying prose (or you could place it with the template of your life, moving beyond the wonderful healing garden)
    Take good care!

    Like

    Reply

    • “monarchlettes” Phylor…

      I love that word! Thank you for your note and kind wishes. My brain is tired Phy, and my hands. I think I have some energy, but am still unable to go places and do anything. Sigh… I hope to start walking and getting exercise again soon. We will head to HT today, and hopefully, I’ll get a walk in at least.

      You take good care too 🙂
      Big Hugs and love, xoxo

      Like

      Reply

  7. “I’ve been fatigued and not able to do much.” Except be very open with your feelings and write some lovely prose!! Could I use your pictures in a future piece about the Monarch? And keep on getting better! Paul

    Like

    Reply

Feel Free to Comment

