A Backporch View

Little Red One (LRO)!

small red winged

“You can know the name of a bird in all the languages of the world, but when you’re finished, you’ll know absolutely nothing whatever about the bird . . . So let’s look at the bird and see what it’s doing – that’s what counts. I learned very early the difference between knowing the name of something and knowing something.”
Richard P. Feynman

LRO!

“You must not know too much, or be too precise or scientific about birds and trees and flowers and water-craft; a certain free margin, and even vagueness – perhaps ignorance, credulity – helps your enjoyment of these things…  ~Walt Whitman, Specimen Days, “Birds – And a Caution”

PHOTOS by Michelle for dogkisses, the blog.

QUOTES:

  All Great Quotes

  The Quote Garden

8 responses to this post.

  1. Love your blog I’m following you now. 🙂 Melody

    Like

    Reply

  2. Michelle, I dont think I have ever seen such a bird. But what amazing photos… I hope you are feeling brighter? I have been busy in the allotments recently and the last post I did might bring a smile to your face…. I hope so…. I hope also the warmer weather is around you. Sending you much love.. Big Hugs Love Sue xxx

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi Sue,

      Yes, I think this must be the most unique and brightest of all the birds I’ve seen. I saw it as a youngster, when it had a blood red head and yellow body! It was so amazing, and I took photos, not knowing it is a Summer Tanager. What a bird! I haven’t seen anymore since I saw this adult, but I’m keeping my eye out. I did see a bluebird, and a Cardinal feeding her babes in my yard 🙂

      I’m still struggling Sue. Thank you for asking. I really do enjoy knowing that you think of me, and your notes on my blog. You are a special friend and your words mean a lot to me. Thank you my friend!

      I’ll come over soon and check out your recent posts.

      Love,
      Michelle xoxo Hugs to you.

      Like

      Reply

  3. The red bird is amazing. I’ve never seen such a red, brighter than even cardinals. Thanks for sharing your backyard visitor.

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi Phylor,

      This is a Summer Tanager and I am so happy it came to visit my yard. I saw it as a youngster when it had a yellow body and a blood red head. I told my son then that it was some kind of special bird, and now I know. I hope it visits again!

      Hugs and Love to you!
      Michelle.

      Like

      Reply

  4. Posted by mo on May 11, 2013 at 10:57 PM

    I have never seen a bird like that! Beautiful!
    Mo

    Like

    Reply

    • Mo, I haven’t either, and don’t know for sure the species. I think it may be a Summer Tanager. It sure is one pretty bird! I saw it again today, and it flew swiftly like Tanagers do. I also saw a golden one, which was just as beautiful!

      Like

      Reply

Feel Free to Comment

