Green Healing ~ Tiny Light

A pretty little yellow bloomI am a tiny yellow flower!  I bloom now and again.  I live in a small clay pot and have two close neighbors.  They also live in clay.  One is a miniature rosebush.  She blooms tiny yellow flowers like me!

My other neighbor hasn’t bloomed yet.  We don’t know the plant’s family origin, but it has interesting rounded leaves that offer me a bit of shade.

We are a nice little community on the west side of a plant-lover’s deck.  We like our home and the clay that holds our roots together.

Our caretaker loves each of us, but I suspect she has a soft spot for me.  Her mother told her that I was, “just a weed,” and suggested that she, “pull me up.”  Obviously, this advice wasn’t taken and she let me grow.

Well, one day, I bloomed!  Our plant-loving caretaker was so surprised that she called her mother to tell of my appearance.

“Oh, Mother!” I heard her say.  “You should see how beautiful the little flower is!  It’s a lovely soft yellow and only last one day!”

I was proud to be talked about in such a grand way!  I started blooming more and more.  I love being a flower so appreciated and enjoyed.  My caretaker says I’m part of a Green Healing journey she’s on in life.  That makes me very special to her.

My name is unknown to me and my plant-loving caretaker, but that doesn’t matter.  I am an awesome tiny light; a soft bright spot on the west side of a lively deck!

Thank you for visiting dogkisses!

21 responses to this post.

  1. A wonderful enchanting story Michelle, 🙂 its those tiny lights that make the world bright.. and you are among them 🙂 xxxxx Hugs

    Like

    Reply

  2. What an utterly delightful story, shared from the plant’s point of view. A great way to reaffirm the importance of noticing the beauty in nature all around us. I do keep some weeds among my less-wild perennials, one I enjoy is plantain for it’s nice round leaves which can alleviate the pain of an insect sting if a leaf is lightly chewed then pressed to the spot. Isn’t it wonderful how many plants are ready to help us? Not all have such delicate lovely blooms as your oxalis though! I’m so happy to have found your delightful blog. Looking forward to many more visits. Namaste. Gina

    Like

    Reply

    • Gina, thank you! I’m so glad you enjoyed the post.

      I have much more oxalis now than when I wrote this post, which is good b/c I live in the woods and not much will grow in the ground. Maybe I can get it to grow where nothing else does! I do have lots of lovely Moss. I have enjoyed learning this plant and finding it growing in the wild. I’ve always been afraid of eating wild weeds, but with this one, I recognize it enough that I’d feel safe munching on it. I’ve never grown plantain and know absolutely nothing about that plant either! It’s nice to talk about the plants and learn too.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

      Warmly,
      Michelle.

      Like

      Reply

  3. Michelle, your tiny light is called Wood Sorrel, and she is a very special healing herb, very nutritious and tasty! I had seen your post before but it wasn’t until I was out this morning making like a cow munching on a bouquet of wood sorrel that came from our own potted plants that I realized that was what your’s was. I usually cut the flowers and seed heads off as we’ve got them in every planter and pot on the deck already, and I wouldn’t be able to see my rosemary, sage, and other herbs and plants, if I didn’t both eat and trim them!

    Wood Sorrel is very very tasty – pluck off a few leaves and stems, pop them in your mouth, and you will see! Lemony flavor – because it is very high in vitamin C. It’s been used as a healing herb for thousands of years, and as a tonic. It’s good in salads or just out of hand, and is very prolific and hardy, so you won’t hurt her by plucking some off. She likes shade, and if you let her have the pot she is in and to go to seed (put it to away from other pots) you will have a whole pot full next year.

    Enjoy with gratitude for this tiny light – I am always filled with gratitude when her delightful flavor fills my mouth. My body seems to crave her at times, and I am very thankful she is here.

    Much Love & many hugs!
    Ash

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi Ash!!! You can’t imagine how nice it is to see a comment from you! I hope this means that at least today, you may be feeling okay. I know this is a really tough time for you, my friend, and I think of you all the time, hoping the best and saying prayers for you.

      Well, maryrose says the plant is an “oxalis” so perhaps I should take a better photo to make sure, but I’m going to nip off a wee bit to see if I can taste the lemon flavor. It looks like the clover family. It is lovely! We just watered it in the little clay pot and there are several tiny yellow flowers blooming today!

      Can you believe Summer is passing! What a year it has been! 2013! Whew.

      The weather is nice today. I’m thinking about the mountains. Ruthie and I, maybe, to go camping. I wish so much I had felt more like traveling. I wanted to see Leslie in OH, and you guys too. I know Fall is beautiful in those hills though, so maybe that’s the best time.

      I continue to say my hopeful prayers for you and look forward to hearing more and more from you. Please take good care of yourself. Thank you for leaving a comment on my blog post and especially, for telling me about Wood Sorrel!

      With all my love,
      Michelle (dogkisses).

      Like

      Reply

      • Hey Michelle!
        Today is not a good day, actually, but I really enjoy munching on wood sorrel and wanted to let you in on its edibility.

        Oxalis is the genus name, and there are many species, but yours is likely O. Europeae of the flowers are under 1/2″ or O. Grandis if they are 3/4 to 1″ diameter. Wood sorrel is the common name.

        Here’s a video about it:

        A really excellent book is Newcomb’s Wildflower Guide by Lawrence Newcomb. It will help you identify *any* flowering wild plant easily – there is a system you use to ID the plants. I got mine when I took field biology in college learning to be a naturalist.

        I hope you can come see us soon! Fall is very beautiful here!
        Much Love flowing your way!
        Ash

        Like

        Reply

        • Very Cool Ash! Thanks for sharing this. I enjoyed the video. It’s nice to know it’s growing in my little pot, and maybe I can get it to grow in the ground. I bet it will around here.

          I’m sorry today is a bad day. I really am. I am having a rough time too, but I don’t think I’m as sick as you are right now. I wish I could do something for you.

          You are in my heart, and my thoughts, dear Ash.
          Peace, Blessings, and Love,
          Your friend, Michelle.

          PS I am always amazed by your mind! Even on a bad day, you are still one of the brightest people I have ever known. I wish you well!!! You are such a delight on this planet, and I am so glad you are my friend! xoxo big healing hugs

          Like

          Reply

  4. What a beautiful story and delightful perspective. I love the pictures it painted in my imagination.
    I also apologize for accidentally deleting your kind comment.

    Like

    Reply

    • Thanks Don! I’m so happy to know you enjoyed the little story!

      No worries about the comment. At least you know I read your post, and I did enjoy it too. Thanks for stopping to let me know.

      Warmly,
      Michelle.

      Like

      Reply

  5. Posted by Tom on August 12, 2013 at 9:35 AM

    dear Michelle, love the story, Truly if a person doesn’t appreciate the beauty everywher that it exists then our life is very bland. I have to share a story with you. My Bichon (Anna) is my nurse/angel. I have come to understand that it wasn’t chance that delivered her to me, but what it was I don’t know. she monitors me all of the time. when the Pain is at it’s worst she tends me. last night was especially bad. She came to lay with me, Gave me two baths and then laid her head cheek to cheek with me. first one cheek and then the other. she ended up going to sleep with a paw on either side of my head and laid her head on mine. how does such endless love come to me, I believe that she was sent. Her love has no limit. when walking is difficult, she patiently follows me and then hits my lap as soon as i sit. this little girl has brought me sunshine on all of the days that I have needed it. She has no other plans like people do and is available every minute of every day. The Lord delivered what I needed as I needed it. i can’t see any other explanation.

    Like

    Reply

    • Dear Tom,

      Hello! What a wonderful tale of the love of a dog!!! Thank you for sharing your Anna’s great loving! She sounds very smart with a huge heart! Like my girl, Ruthie 🙂

      I believe my Ruthie was sent too. I should tell how we met. Perhaps I will write that story. My beautiful dog-friend, Free, blew kisses from Heaven, straight down to Earth, where Ruthie received them! And then we met!

      I’m sorry you were in so much pain. I hope today is better.

      I love the image of Anna’s paws on your head, and her kisses too. So sweet! Dogs have such pure love and like you say, it has no limit. I don’t know what I would do without Ruthie, or at least, the special love a dog gives. I’m truly grateful. Sometimes, I think a dog is why I believe in God, or rather, why I haven’t lost all or any faith I ever had.

      Lately, I’ve felt alone so much of the time. It isn’t because I’m physically alone, but when you live with pain and other chronic, life-altering symptoms, well, it’s easy to feel like nobody can understand what that kind of life is like. Many things I want to do, like camping in the mountains, seem to pass me by, and this makes me sad. I miss my mother too, but she doesn’t allow dogs inside. She’ll let my dog in for a bit, maybe overnight, but the dog hairs really bother her. I wish she’d say –so what, a few dog hairs, life is short… –but that’s not who she is.

      I hope today brings you another dogkiss and a few hugs to go with it. Thanks so much for stopping to comment and share. I appreciate that very much.

      Affectionately,
      Michelle, and Ruthie Mae.

      Like

      Reply

      • Posted by Tom on August 12, 2013 at 11:09 AM

        Michelle, you have touched on what for me is the toughest thing that we with chronic pain face; lonelieness. you may have people around you but they can’t really help. they try for bits of time but they cant feel the pain. when i need to lie in bed waiting for the pain killers to begin working i hear life going on for family, conversation, laughter, but it isn’t for you. that is the most trying time for me. I used to hunt, all of the time in the mountains, the campfire with my sons and friends. these things are gone forever. during my lowest times I have thought about my endgame. i am sometimes overwhelmed and feel hopeless and without anyone to talk to that would understand. I live for my wife and Anna. but this gets very tiresome in ways that people cannot understand. i have very much appreciated your articles.

        Like

        Reply

        • Thank you Tom. I feel a kinship with you, and sadness too. I wish you well days. Also, please feel free to write me anytime.

          I’ve had a hard time communicating with the world lately and I am not in such a good way as I write. My family problems have exaggerated. I am left as a caregiver to a person who needs so much more than I have to give and whose condition, I guess, renders him unable to appreciate what I do. It is a hard life and my only respite is the idea of walking my dog in some woods where the sun won’t beat down on us. I fantasize about a day of rest and quiet, and peace in my mind about my loved one who is so distressed.

          I too imagine my “endgame.” Ruthie keeps me here. A dog! Imagine that 😉 And, my blogging mates, like you Tom. Thank you for sharing here with me. My email is d o g k i s s e s 2 at g mail . com

          Please take good care of yourself today, and I will try to do the same.

          Peace,
          Michelle.

          Like

          Reply

  6. Posted by LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words on August 11, 2013 at 9:38 PM

    what a lovely story…
    I often come across weeds in potted plants that I like better than the plant
    and I get it for the weed…it makes me happy…besides my Grandmother told me a weed is just waiting to be discovered to cure something
    (yours is called oxalis I think) I have lots of it LOLs…I love the delicate flower
    and it is part of the clover family (I think)
    I love this story….it feels good….
    Thank you for sharing….
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    Like

    Reply

    • maryrose, Hello!

      I love your comment with my story. It feels good too 🙂

      I figured my little plant is from the Clover family. Thank you for telling me the name! I will tell the little blooms tomorrow for there are many ready to open now. I imagine it would grow a lot (and spread) outside of a little clay pot. I’d love to know where you grow it; in a container or the ground?

      Here’s to tiny blooming weeds, and Grandmothers who taught us to appreciate such things.

      Love,
      Michelle.

      Like

      Reply

  7. I like the blog. Could you please follow my posts and like them?

    Like

    Reply

  8. Could call yourself the lovely yellow flower, surprise plant or bright spot.

    Like

    Reply

Feel Free to Comment

