A Holiday Season for the Birds

“We missed you at the dinner,” my mother said.

“I missed being there,” I replied, sincerely.

We let the sadness sit in silence for a moment.

I’ve missed so many important occasions over the past decade.

Family reunions, weddings, birthdays, baby showers and this year, our Christmas gathering, have all happened without me.

Mother always tells me who showed up and gives me bits of updates on my loved ones.  Loved ones I’ve lost contact with, except through photos or indirect stories.

I’m trying not to let things get me down this holiday season, but so far, it is a huge challenge.

Not only am I in more pain from fibromyalgia and a few new ailments too, my son and I are not getting along.  It’s a double dose of holiday grief!

While talking with Mother about the Christmas gathering that I wasn’t able to attend, I immediately felt my heart-strings pull.  My efforts to be positive seemed to pay off because right away I decided to try and take joy in her account of the gathering.  I was surprised when soon I was smiling, as I imagined one of my great nieces bringing one of her cousins five wrapped presents.

“I don’t know if she got the other ones anything, but she sure had five,” Mother said, with that pure joy a Great-Grandmother has.  “She had every one of them wrapped too,” she added with a little laugh.

After a few minutes into the conversation, I walked to the window where I could see a flock of Robins in the yard. They love the grassy lawn where I live and they are spectacular to see!  They always seem to come when the light shows their silhouettes under the Sycamore tree.  Many of them move toward my door, and I get to see them up close and personal as they lean in towards the ground, turning their heads slightly, listening for earthworms.

Robin listening for worms

The Robin Listens

“Hey Mother!  The Robins are here!”

I’ve told her about the Robins before.

Amidst the flock were other birds about the same size as Robins, but with black with golden stripes.  One or two had iridescent blue heads, so perhaps they were young Common Grackles.

Sometimes, when I mention the birds in my yard over the phone to people, they’re silent for a moment afterward.  I always wonder if they think I’m making up these tales of many birds!

Mother was quiet for a moment, but then she remarked that I should, “send a photo to that wildlife magazine.”

I wish I could.  I wish I could, if for no other reason than to make her proud.  She would be happy to see one of my photos in a magazine.

I’m in pain and can’t sit long enough to complete even the most simplest of photo projects.

“Now,” I started telling my bird tales again, “there are Black-capped Chickadees, two or three bluejay, some Orioles, and the Hawk has landed on the ground!”

As if that wasn’t enough, a flock of Cardinals were perched on the bushes by the treeline!

“It’s a winged-oasis out there!” I told Mother.  “It’s so beautiful!”

I didn’t have the energy to go outside to take a photo.  At least, not yet.

I was happy to see the pretty winged visitors, as always, but when I’m feeling unusually blue, I am especially grateful because the beauty and life they bring lifts a part of my spirit every time.

I sensed my mother knew, or somehow, she could feel what I saw.

Mother and I have always had a connection on a level other than this physical one that we can see and understand.

Our talk ended when my son called.  “I hope he’ll stay and have the chocolate croissants with me,” I remarked to Mother.

He’s in the habit of taking food that I cooked to his apartment to eat.  He won’t visit me at home or talk to me much lately.

The hawk was still on the ground when my son arrived.  A neighbor walked by and we each watched the bird for a few minutes.

He was excited over the beautiful pastries and gave me a hug, thanking me for baking them, but he took his croissants and headed back home.  I was disappointed, but at least I knew he would enjoy them and that gave me comfort.

Practicing gratitude helps me get through hard times, even if the feeling only last for a little while.  I need to remember the better times and keep hope alive.

I’m glad for the ability to enjoy the natural world around me.  The wild ones keep coming back, so I have plenty of chances to take in nature’s beauty!

The hawk was still in the yard when my son left, but was perched on the electric wires.

I reached for my Canon!

The Red-shouldered hawk and that streak of beautiful Carolina sky!

Getting closer to the red-shouldered hawk

“How close are you going to get?”

Red-shouldered hawk perched on wire in backyard

“That’s Close Enough.”

Thank you for visiting my blog, dogkisses.

Peace and Happy Holidays!

Your blogger, Michelle.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Am sorry you are in pain but your birds and the photos seem uplifting. Nature can help healing. Conflict and misunderstanding with our kids is hard and am glad it has got better. Am hoping mine will too. Part of the ups and downs and challenges of parenting particularly when they are ‘grown up’ .
    Lovely photos of the hawk.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Thanks so much for your comment, and for your well wishes! Nature is for sure uplifting! I don’t know what I’d do without my connection in the natural world. And yes, conflict with family is hard. My son has a neurological disability, but honestly, his medical care team is not that good, so he and I both suffer as a result. Today, I feel hopeful, so that’s good. I guess I live on hope.

      I like your blog! I look forward to seeing more of your posts. I’m off now to get a nerve study done, which I terribly dread. (I should have meditated about this)!

      Have a great day!
      Michelle.

      Like

      Reply

      • Thanks for your response. I hoped my blog could be uplifting about the natural world but I also feel I have to look at some of the environmental issues which challenge us today. Am sorry to hear that the medical care is not that good for your son. It’s a hard one to fit in but some quiet time out each day/ meditation is what I find helps me relax and refocus.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

  2. Such a beautiful hawk you took great shots 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Michelle.. I am so sorry you are once again in so much pain.. The stress of everything no doubt.. Its good that you can chat with your Mom.. and that the birds visit.. Please take heart and listen to the birds.. the Hawk totem is watching over you http://www.spiritanimal.info/hawk-spirit-animal/
    Sending you Love and Hugs.. and I hope things smooth out between you and your Son… Use the New Moon tonight the Winter Solstice to help clear out old thinking and old things to bring in the new,,

    Sending Christmas Greetings.. with Love for a painfree one.. and a healthier New Year.. xxx
    Love Sue xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Dearest Sue! As always, thanks for your kind words and encouragement!

      My dogkisses blog is a little lonely in the cyber planet these days, but it is as it is supposed to be with special words from you 🙂

      Also, no sooner than I published this post, things turned for the better. Amazing, life is. Rest is something I must get to know better, and relaxing. My son and I had a nice time together shopping for him a Tablet. We also had a good meal together and it was all good. Ruthie and I are cuddled up and a nice friend from out of town popped in! I had been trying to find his number but couldn’t, so I ask the Universe to tell him to call. Within 48 hours he did, and was nearby! Amazing, life is!

      I’ll check out the link to Hawk medicine. When my son and I went shopping, there was a hawk that looked just like mine and it was flying around, in town, above the sidewalk! People didn’t seem to notice it but I did! The image was surreal.

      I hope you have a beautiful holiday!

      Peace and Blessings,
      and hugs and love,
      Michelle.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • You too Michelle have a wonderful Holiday.. and so pleased your talk to the Universe it is listening and ready to help all the time.. The Hawk.. I feel was only meant for you to notice.. Please read about Hawk Medicine.. 🙂 xxx
        Much Love to you
        Sue ❤ ❤ ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

  4. How majestic!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Feel Free to Comment

