Thank You, Tiny.

Returning to Nature

Taking Comfort in our Great Mother

Before you go, I want to tell you how grateful I am to have known you.  I want to say thank you, my four-legged friend.

Thank you for being such a dear loyal friend to my son.  Thank you for communicating with me during times when he, and you, needed me.  Thank you for loving him.

Thank you for your tremendous patience.  You’ve lived a life of many stories, my dear friend, and I will never forget them.  I will never forget you.

I will however remember the fun times, because my girl Free, who lives where you are going, taught me this is the best way to let a beloved Dog go to, “The place that’s the best,” with, “The Spirits in the Sky.”

Thank you for loving my son, especially when he wasn’t well.  Thank you for always thinking of him, letting him know you loved him, no matter how far away you were from each other.  Thank you so much!

Thank you for making people laugh with your playful antics.  Thank you for sticking by us through thick and thin.  Truly, you have, and I am in tremendous gratitude.

Thank you for never biting anyone.  You scared me a few times, but it is best that you didn’t act on your instincts, even though they were correct and the people may have indeed deserved a nip, or two.

Tiny, thank you for loving me.  I wasn’t sure if you would like living with me, but you did,  I could always tell. 

I know you feel closest to my son and I love you for that, but when he wasn’t here, I always felt proud that you followed me around, watched out for me and slept at the end of my feet.  You were such a great little, “Foot-Feller.”

Tiny, I will always love you.  Always.  You will live in my heart because there is a place in it shaped exactly like you.

I’d also like to say thank you for loving my girl.  She was afraid of so much when she first left that stinky shelter and came to live with me.  She sure wasn’t scared of you! 

I’ll never forget what it looked like to see two dogs fall crazy in-love with each other.  I did and it was beautiful.  My new girl’s eyes widened big and her mouth literally dropped open when you walked in our door.  She was stunned!  It was so funny.  I could see the love she felt for you!  It was amazing.

Thank you for always treating her like a Princess.  She thinks she is one now, I guess.

She sure has been a good nurse hasn’t she?  Boy, I’ll have to do something really special for her, like take her for a walk where she can pretend she’s hunting squirrels.

She will miss you Tiny.  We all will.  I will give her lots of hugs and extra love.

I promise, per your only request of me during the past few months, to be here for your true Master.  He is my son and you know I love him with all my heart and soul.  I’m honored that you asked and very grateful that I heard.

I will do the best I can to keep my head up.  I know I got pretty sad when the Vet told me you had cancer.  I did and I have cried a lot, but I promise I’ll be okay.  I may cry for a while, but you know me Tiny.  I do cry.

I will help your best friend get another four-legged companion when the time is right.  I promise.

Thank you, Tiny.  You are the most amazing boy dog I have ever known and loved.  You are my grand-dog!  Thank you for being my friend and sweet foot-feller.

I could say a lot more.  I could.  I could thank you for all the times you’ve been there for us, but I must stop writing.  I want to come lie down beside you.  I guess, it is our last night together.

We will go to the Vet tomorrow.  We will go.

Thank You, Tiny.

We Love You Forever!

Photos of Tiny in this post.

25 responses to this post.

  1. Oh Michele. Thank you for sharing this very difficult moment with us and for reflecting on Tiny’s journey with you. May his beautiful soul rest in peace.
    I leave you with this poem to help you during this very difficult period:

    Indian Prayer
    When I am dead
    Cry for me a little
    Think of me sometimes
    Think of me now and again
    As I was in life
    At some moments
    It is please to recall but not for long
    Leave me in peace
    And I shall leave you in peace
    And while you live
    Let your thoughts be with the living.

    Many hugs to you and your family

    Like

    Reply

    • Thank you Dr. Rayya. I truly love the Indian Prayer. It is beautiful. It makes me feel much better each time I read it. I am going to keep it in my mind when I think of the sadness of Tiny having to leave. I want him to be in peace, so thank you so much for sharing that with me.

      With gratitude,
      Michelle.

      Like

      Reply

      • Hey Michelle,

        How are you? You have been in my thoughts. I hope you are okay. I bet you are missing Tiny very much.

        Like

        Reply

        • Hi Dr. Rayya,

          I’m okay, I guess. I still grieve deeply, honestly. Seeing your comment brought more tears, but also, I realized, that perhaps I need to have a small ceremony. Things didn’t go as I had planned on the day I had to say good-bye to Tiny and I just can’t seem to get over that. Maybe I will go plant some flowers around his resting place, and take time without rushing. It probably sounds silly and I probably grieve too much, but that is how it is with me.

          Thank you for your kind thoughts and for taking the time to ask about me. I read the prayer you left here again today, and it is so beautiful. It does ease the pain, so thank you again for that too.

          Most affectionately,
          Michelle.

          Like

          Reply

          • Hey Michelle,

            I’m so sorry to hear that things didn’t go as expected. That always makes it much harder to reach closure and hinders you from allowing you to start accepting the loss.
            My thoughts are with you during this very challenging period. Focus on reflecting on your beautiful memories with Tiny.
            Lots of hugs.

            Sincerely,
            Rayya

            Like

            Reply

            • Thank you Dr. Rayya.

              It seems like I’m doing a little better, and like you say, remembering more his life and all the great times we had rather than his last day here. Sometimes, the light shines in a certain way and each time it does, I think of Tiny. I don’t know why, but it is such a nice, soft evening light, but also very bright too. I often wonder if it is his Spirit saying hello. I call it Tiny’s light.

              Mostly, I’ve noticed that I’m talking more about the fun times. I like it when my son and I both remember something he did and we laugh together.

              In Gratitude,
              Michelle.

              Like

  2. Michelle when I read this in my phone email I had to stop reading half way through as I cried too much… and even now the tears are welling up yet again as I so feel your heart as you pour it out to your beloved Tiny who has given you so much unconditional love over the years….
    You know without a doubt that you have my healing thoughts…. and I so send them to you …
    Love and Blessings Always
    Sue xox

    Like

    Reply

    • Dear Sue,

      Thank you for sharing your heart felt thoughts with me about Tiny, and my heart. Thanks too very much for your healing thoughts. It’s been sad, especially because he got sick and I wish so much he hadn’t had to be that way at all, but I did the best I could to make him comfortable. I hope he was and I know he is free from all pain, which is what helps me get through. I almost can’t believe he isn’t with us, which I just realized. I am trying to focus on being with Ruthie as much as I can and that’s helping both of us.

      With gratitude and Love,
      Michelle.

      Like

      Reply

  3. I wanted to comment here, hoping that each of you who have left me your warm and kind thoughts may see it.

    Thank you so much for reading about my Tiny boy. My heart hurts today.

    It was hard accepting that Tiny was so sick. He was such a strong stoic dog. He was my protector, and even up to the last minute he lived, he was that way.

    If I could do it over, I guess, I might not treat the cancer and just let him go on when the Vet told me, but I didn’t. I wasn’t ready. I’m so thankful that my friend, Ash, was there. She helped me so much to let him go.

    I’m also grateful for this blog. The people that visit and comment are awesome and I’m lucky to know each one of you.

    Thank you again.

    With gratitude, and many good wishes for you,
    Michelle.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Look Michelle, We’ve all come back, to comfort you, to comfort us as a family. All of us who have or who have had dogs know the feeling, and those that love us also know. Prepare yourself for more sadness tomorrow when the shock wears off, sweetie. I know how that feels. I am going to bed now. Thinking of you. Love, Laurie

    Like

    Reply

  5. Michelle, I looked at Tiny’s pictures again just now and smiled at that silly one of him sitting in that chair! There was nothing “tiny” about that dog…..especially his love for your son and you….and that great big heart. Thinking of you and understanding your sadness.
    mo

    Like

    Reply

    • Mo, I still look at that photo of Tiny when I want to see him at his best. Sitting high with his big eyes checking everything out around him. He was so so sweet. Thank you for your thoughts and understanding too.

      Like

      Reply

  6. Posted by Rhiannon on January 17, 2013 at 4:03 PM

    Michelle,
    Like my mom and many others, I too cried while reading this beautiful post. No one could ever doubt that Tiny was loved. Animals may be the greatest gift given to us in life. They may also teach some of the hardest, but most beautiful lessons. He is never gone. You may not see him, but I believe he will continue to keep a loving watchful eye over your family. And when the time is right, he’ll find you again. My heart is with you. If you need to talk, I’m here.
    Love you.
    Rhiannon

    Like

    Reply

    • Thank you for reading and leaving me your thoughts and love, Rhiannon. I was just reading over the comments. It’s nice to see that people were thinking of Tiny.

      I really haven’t known what to say, as if the words just left me for a while.

      Sending you my love too. Your words are truly a comfort.
      Love,
      Michelle.

      Like

      Reply

  7. So sorry to hear this sad news. May Tiny have a pain-free crossing over the rainbow bridge xox

    Like

    Reply

  8. Thank you Tiny, for all the joy and happiness you gave to my friend Michelle and her lovely son. I know how much you meant to both of them. Truly. Michelle supported me when my own dog died, Callie, kiss her in heaven for me; I think you will be great friends. I will help Michelle as much as I can but sometimes us humans need time to process change.I loved the photos of you, it was nice to see them all again.The best thing humans can do is to not let our furry friends suffer, we did that with Callie too who also had cancer. God bless you Tiny, thank you for helping my friends, you will no longer have any pain and I will look after Michelle and her son for you. I never got to meet you but I definitely knew you and loved you. Your friend, Laurie

    Warm wishes, Laurie http://hibernationnow.wordpress.com

    >________________________________ > From: DogKisses >To: lauriefessler@yahoo.com >Sent: Wednesday, January 16, 2013 10:26 PM >Subject: [New post] Thank You, Tiny. > > > WordPress.com >Michelle posted: “Returning to Nature Before you go, I want to tell you how grateful I am to have known you. I want to say thank you, my four-legged friend. Thank you for being such a dear loyal friend to my son. Thank you for communicating with me during times whe” >

    Like

    Reply

  9. Michelle, I am crying with you now, remembering all the things we talked about on the phone, remembering making the decision on my Shunka. You wrote a beautiful tribute to Tiny, and I know you’ve been telling him, too. He knows how much he is Loved, and Loves you and your son back just as much.
    Love never dies, and we are, at heart & soul, all of us, Love.
    My heart will be with you all day, and especially at noon.

    Much Love, reaching out and holding you tight!
    Ash

    Like

    Reply

  10. Special bonds/friendships like your relationship with Tiny will always be a part of you.
    Thanking Tiny is part of the healing process. And you have been kind enough to let us get to know Tiny through words and pictures.
    Tomorrow (today?) will be hard — sending you and Tiny gentle (((((hugs))))). You will be in my thoughts.

    Like

    Reply

    • Thank you Phylor, and everyone. Today, at Noon, we go to the Vet, and then we go to the special place in pretty woods.

      Thank you all for reading about Tiny.

      Like

      Reply

      • thinking of you and sending (((((hugs))))) for you and your son.
        These things are never easy — I’m glad you found a special place for Tiny to rest. He would no doubt approve of the spot.
        Take good care!

        Like

        Reply

  11. That was beautiful.
    Truly, beautiful. I know the pain you feel and my heart goes out to you. You will carry these memories forever and they will fill your heart until you meet again.

    Just today I shed a few tears thinking of my beloved Layla, who has now been gone several years. One of my happiest thoughts about Heaven is that I believe they will all be there to greet me someday.

    My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family (those with fur and without).
    If you need to talk, email me anytime. (((hugs)))

    Like

    Reply

  12. I AM SO SORRY!! There are no words that will ease that hole in your heart but I know that he loved and was loved! They give us the greatest gift in the world and ask nothing in return. Take care sweetie….

    Like

    Reply

    • Rosemary’s point about Tiny knowing he was loved is perfect. Michelle, you rightfully are in pain because of the impending loss. But Tiny was the gorgeous, loving dog he was because of all the love he received from you and so many others. That’s what Tiny will carry with him until his last heart beat.

      In sharing, Paul

      Like

      Reply

Feel Free to Comment

