Green Healing ~ Over and Over

in the garden, over and over

Crimson and Clover

A short day in the garden continues to be rather taxing for my body, including my brain, but is still very much worth it!

We start a new project each week.  We’re growing beds of Bok Choy, Lettuce, Carrots, a container of Sweet Peas, and we each have a potted assortment of Cacti that we took home.

We take care of the gardens planted last year; the beautiful robust Chard, Thyme, Parsley, Sage and I do believe, some Rosemary too, along with a spontaneous flower garden.

We harvested the wonderful Cabbage plants and next week are going to share a meal together.

after the harvest, we nourish our bodies

Cabbage ready to eat!

I love being in the open air, seeing smiles evoked by simple little things, like a bug or a bloom.  I also love seeing my son engaged, smiling and enjoying nature.

Being around people who are kind, understanding and who don’t put others in a box or see them as diagnoses, but instead as individual human beings with something unique to offer is a blessing.  I wish it was the norm, but I don’t think it is.

Even though I feel great fatigue after the class, I’m able to experience the ‘Green Healing’ as I sit quietly recalling the beauty of the flowers or interesting plants we saw, my son’s smiles and the often moving interactions with the other volunteers while we worked together.

Our visits to the greenhouse are always exciting as well.  Plants change from week to week and there’s usually something new along the path during our walk.  I love that!

people and plants

in the greenhouse

The patch of Crimson Clover (above) where the ladybugs live is thriving with beautiful blooms.  In honor of these awesome blooms, I’m sharing the song via YouTube.

This is an original short version, by Tommy James And The Shondells, as heard on WABC AM radio when it was a hit in 1968.

Thanks for visiting Dogkisses’s Blog!

‘Green Healing Days’ feed from Flickr

10 responses to this post.

  1. Another lovely post! And I want to say, too, I so appreciate all the beautiful fotos you’ve been sharing with us here & on facebook – makes me feel like I’m a part of the experience! Well, a part of my soul is always there with you, my soul-sister!

    Many, many blessings to you & Neil, and much gratitude for sharing this magical healing journey with all of us…
    *gentlest hugs* and much Love!

    Ash

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi Ash! Thanks for the compliment my friend. I’m so glad to know you enjoy the photos. You are always in my heart, so in that way, you are a part of my healing times there.

      Sometimes, when I’m too tired to do much else, I look through the pictures and what a great way to pass time! I love remembering the moments we had together in the group and reflecting on my experience(s).

      Horticulture therapy and/or therapeutic horticulture is awesome! I like it so much that recently when someone asked me if I still wanted to move, I thought about how hard it would be to leave this group behind. It’s the first time in years that I’ve felt this way.

      Thank you for your continued support and encouragement, and the healing wishes for Neil and I. As always, I hope your day is one without so much pain, and that you may have relief.

      Peace and lots of Love,
      Your friend, Michelle.

      Like

      Reply

  2. I’ve always liked “crimson and clover.” Although you are sometimes tired by your time in the garden, I’m sure it continues to nourish you spiritually (and your stomach, too, lol). I sense that as you continue to heal spiritually and emotionally in such a magical, special place, your physical strength and health will return.
    I’m so glad you’ve found your “green healing” space.

    All the best to you and your son.

    Like

    Reply

  3. crimson and clover is one of my favourite songs. Although you are sometimes tired by your work in the garden, it continues to nourish your soul (and your stomach, lol). I sense as you heal spiritually, emotionally, and physically from your time spent in such a magical, special place, more and more of your physical strength will return. I am glad you have found your “green healing” space.

    All the best to you and your son.

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi Phylor, It’s such a lovely song and I have a renewed appreciation for it, now that I’ve been watching the Crimson Clover growing. Today I watered some herbs near them, and watched visitors touching the flowers. They are captivating with their rich color, for sure. I thought to myself while they were touching the flowers, ‘Hey, those are my friends, those flowers.’ –It’s like you become friends with the plants! How cool is that, right? I hope to continue volunteering at such an awesome place! You know, the thought of my “health and physical strength returning” is a powerful thought. Perhaps I need to imagine that more often. Thank you for your truly kind thoughts. I’ve been pretty tired and unable to keep up with reading as much, but in good time 🙂 I’ll visit your blog (and you).

      With Healing wishes and Blessings of whimsical happenings, Take good care of yourself, Michelle.

      Like

      Reply

  4. Posted by Anonymous on April 7, 2012 at 12:51 AM

    one of my favourite songs — although you can be tired after a day in the garden, it sounds like your soul (and your stomach, lol) is being nourished. As you heal physically, emotionally, spiritually from your special times in such a magical, special place, I sense your strength will return.

    All the best to you and your son!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Good Evening… LOVE THE POST. Crimson and Clovers are beautiful.. Wow look at that cabbage.. I LOVE CABBAGE.. THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHARING THIS POST..I am vry envious of that green house. lol. Unfortuanately i dont have a green thumb at all but i do love plants and flowers.. Sure enjoyed the song too.. God bless..

    della
    xxx

    Like

    Reply

    • Hi Della, Thank you so much for your enthusiastic reply 🙂 And yep, that’s some good looking cabbage isn’t it, lol. I’m looking forward to eating it. I also wish I had a greenhouse. I feel very blessed to be able to go to this one. It’s amazing, but is the Botanical Gardens, and since they’re an educational organization, they have lots of cool plants, and resources for growing them. As far as a green thumb, the native plants to your area should be very forgiving, tolerant and hardy. I’m amazed at how some plants survive my ignorance. God bless you too…

      Warmly,
      Michelle.

      Like

      Reply

  6. DK, lots of warm wishes from a variety of beating hearts over here in AZ. (Indeed, a little extra warm heart joining us as you will see in Sunday’s LfD post!)

    Like

    Reply

Feel Free to Comment

